Happy birthday …

Happy birthday to me! 🙂  This morning I was awakened early to go outside and see the stars.  I found Orion using a new SKyMap App that was amazing.

  Image

 

It was so nice to lay outside and stare up at the stars.  As the sun began to rise we encountered one of the longest shooting stars I have seen in my life.  It must have lasted about 3 seconds.  It began below Venus and went towards a neighboring star.  It was incredible!  Usually by the time you see them they have already burned out, but this one, we stared at head on, it began to dim half way through its journey and then it reignited and kept going.  It was the most amazing thing I have ever seen!  After looking it up I found that it was most likely part of the IMO # 149 meteoroid shower that is most active today, September 3rd at 6:00am.  WE happened to be there at just the right time!  🙂  

When I was a little girl we used to lay in the yard in Wyoming and stare up at the sky and watch the night sky.  It was always sprayed with twinkling lights.  It is one of my fondest memories.  This morning, reminded me of that time in my life and it was wonderful!

Note to self:  Look at the stars more often.  

 

2 thoughts on “Happy birthday …

Leave a Reply

